### Minutes of the ISFP General Assembly, Geneva, July 10, 2007

### Bylaws of the ISFP

On proposal of the Council, the General Assembly unanimously accepted changes to the Bylaws as requested by the present Belgian legislation for non-profit organizations. The Bylaws can be consulted on the ISFP website (www.fibrinolysis.org) and will be published in the "Belgisch Staatsblad", the official journal of the Belgian government.

#### Council

- Chairman: the mandate of B. Binder ends after the 2008 Vienna Congress.
- Chairman-elect: R. Medcalf will become chairman after the 2008 Vienna Congress.
- Secretary-Treasurer: the mandate of O. Matsuo ends after the 2008 Vienna meeting.
- Ex officio members:
  - o Chairman SSC on Fibrinolysis/ISTH: C. Longstaff
  - o Associate Editor, section Fibrinolysis (JTH): R. Medcalf
  - o Liaison officer with IFRS: M. Mosesson
- In 2008, 4 new Council members will have to be elected to replace class 2008. Nominations can be made to the Executive Director until December 31, 2007. Council members are expected to attend ISFP Congress and ISFP council meetings and to contribute actively to the activities and goals of the Society. Election of class 2014 will be done by mail.
- The Advisory Board was not changed.

# Membership

- The General Assembly has agreed, as proposed by the Council, to accept 7 new junior members and 29 new full members, and to prolong 9 complimentary memberships for 2008. The membership of 26 colleagues was terminated because the membership fee was not paid for 3 consecutive years.
- As proposed by the Council, the General Assembly accepted the principle that participants at the ISFP Congress in Vienna who paid the full (non-member) registration fee will be offered free membership for 2009. For the year 2010 they will receive a regular invoice for the membership fee and be entitled to a reduced registration fee at the Amsterdam Congress (pending timely payment of the membership fee). In line with the same principle students and postdoctoral follows of less then 30 years old, who participate in the 2008 Congress, will be offered free junior membership.
- A new membership directory will be send by e-mail or regular mail to all members who paid their 2007 fee.

#### **Financial situation**

• The Profit and Loss Statement 2006 and the Budget 2007 were approved by the General Assembly, as proposed by the Council.

• The membership fee for 2008 will be kept at 60 € ISFP members will be entitled to a reduction of the registration fee for the 19th ISFP Congress in Vienna (July 6-10, 2008).

### **Organization of future congresses**

- A call to host the 2012 Congress of the ISFP will be published in J. Thromb. Haemost. If no acceptable candidates are identified, the Council may decide on a suitable meeting site and to organize the scientific programme itself and to do the organization with the support of a local PCO.
- The Council will specify guidelines for local organizers in order to better control the budget and to limit the financial liability of the ISFP. These will be applied for the 2012 Congress.

#### **Progress Reports on future congresses**

J. Wojta presented a progress report on the 2008 Congress in Vienna. Details can be found at <a href="https://www.isfp2008.org">www.isfp2008.org</a>. C. Kluft extended an invitation to the 2010 Congress in Amsterdam (www.isfp2010.org).

#### **Society journal**

The latest impact factor of J. Thromb. Haemost. is 5.18. In 2006, 50 papers were submitted to the Fibrinolysis section, with an acceptance rate of 41%.

## **Wyeth-ISFP Prize**

Wyeth has generously agreed to sponsor the 2008 Wyeth-ISFP Prize (10,000 USD). Nominations are to be made to the Executive Director before January 1, 2008. A call for nominations can be found on www.fibrinolysis.org and will also be published in J. Thromb. Haemost.

The Council of the ISFP has appointed I. Juhan-Vague as chair of the international jury that will be composed to select the Prize winner.

#### **Travel Bursaries**

The ISFP makes travel bursaries available to students and junior postdoctoral fellows to support scientific exchanges and collaborations. Conditions and application forms can be found on the Website. Applications are accepted all year round.

H.R. Lijnen Executive Director roger.lijnen@kuleuven.be R. Medcalf Chairman elect Robert.medcalf@med.monash.edu.au

B.R. Binder Chairman bernd.binder@univie.ac.at