The ISFP was founded to stimulate scientific research relating to any aspect of proteolysis which is relevant to human biology and pathology.

Minutes General Assembly Kyoto, July 27, 2011


  • C. Kluft remains Chairman until 2012.
  • J. Wojta becomes cahirman after the Brighton 2012 congress. J. Meijers remains as Secretary-Treasurer until 2014.
  • Class 2012 (L. Bajzar, P. Declerck, V. Ellis, J. Wojta) retires after the Brighton congress.
  • Class 2014: 3 council members remain after the unfortunate death of M. Nesheim.
  • Nominations for Class 2018 are solicited: to be submitted to the Executive Director before end of March 2012; election by mail.


  • 5 new regular memberships (S. Le Breton, P. Meijer, J. Skov, J. Orbe, N. Vande Casteele)) and 2 junior membership (B. Bannish, B. Grismayer) applications were accepted by the Council and will be proposed to the General Assembly.
  • 91 full memberships were paid in 2010.
  • 22 junior memberships are registered.
  • 9 complimentary memberships are prolonged for another year. They will be contacted for confirmation of interest.
  • A membership directory has been will be e-mailed to all members.

Financial situation

  • The income statement and balance 2010 and the proposed budget for 2011 were approved by the Council and will be presented to the General Assembly for approval.
  • The membership fee for 2012 will be kept at 60 € or 100 € for 2012-2013.
  • Corporate sponsoring for 2010 was only 2,426 €.
  • One travel grant (1,500 €) was awarded (to M. Sashindranath) to go from Melbourne (R. Medcalf) to Michigan (D. Lawrence).
  • The Council decided to continue the D. Collen Young Investigator Awards (1 x 5,000 $ and 4 x 1,000 $) at the next ISFP Congress in Brighton in 2012.
  • The Council also decided to continue the ISFP Prize in 2012 (10,000 $), sponsored by ISFP.

Society Journal

  • The impact factor of JTH has dropped from 6.29 to 5.48. The acceptance rate for the Fibrinolysis section is 40%, as compared to 29% overall.
  • As Associated Editor section Fibrinolysis, R. Medcalf suggests that ISFP members make suggestions for review topics and write commentaries on fibrinolysis-related papers.
  • The term of R. Medcalf as Associate Editor will end when the newly elected editors-in-chief (F. Rosendaal, P. Reitsma) will be in office. Candidates (6 year term) for Associate Editor, section Fibrinolysis, should contact the Executive Director.

Congress Brighton

  • C. Longstaff extended an invitation to Brighton 2012.
  • The organizing committee and scientific advisory board are established.
  • The venue and PCO are selected.
  • ISFP Fibrinolysis Ltd was founded to cover liability.
  • Organization of a joint meeting with IFRS is planned.
  • At the Brighton congress, a named plenary lecture will be dedicated to our late colleagues B. Binder and M. Nesheim.


  • Candidates to organize the 2014 ISFP congress are solicited.
  • Nominations for the 2012 ISFP Prize can be submitted to the Executive Director until October 1, 2011 ( The Council proposes H. Pannekoek as Chairman of the jury (if he accepts), and J. Meijers as Council representative.
  • The Executive Director will explore the possibility to have a new – more dynamic – website developed.

H.R. Lijnen
Executive Director


The 24th International congress of the ISFP and the 17th International Workshop on Molecular and Cellular Biology of Plasminogen Activation, Edinburgh, UK, September 3-7, 2018